Inaugural LATAM Awards

Dr. Luis E. Raez

Posted: December 2018

The IASLC Latin America Conference on Lung Cancer in August featured a new awards presentation. The awards, sponsored by the IASLC Latin America Group (LATAM) were, in the words of LATAM Chair Luis E. Raez, MD, “for people who have not only moved forward the mission and vision of the IASLC globally but who have also had a significant contribution to the IASLC LATAM.”

The awardees included Paul A. Bunn Jr., MD; David R. Gandara, MD; David P. Carbone, MD, PhD; and Fred R. Hirsch, MD, PhD. A special award was also given to Pia Hirsch for all of her years of support to the LATAM region.

The LATAM plans to continue giving out the awards at future IASLC Latin America conferences. ✦